Texas-Sized Pass: Third-to-First on Final Superbowl Lap for Korey Keimig

GREENVILLE, TX – They say everything is bigger in Texas: including the passes for the lead.

Korey Keimig vaulted from third to first on the final lap in Saturday night’s Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco ‘Cajun Region’ opener at Superbowl Speedway.

The $1,000 victory in Round No. 1 of the Day Motor Sports point series was Keimig’s first with the series.

The ‘Cajun Region’ visited the racy Superbowl oval located just outside of Greenville, Texas.

Keimig, who led during the first half of the event, found the top groove in the race’s final stages, sweeping past both Kody Adams and Caleb Dillard, who were locked into a tussle for the top spot.

Keimig led the main through the halfway mark, when Adams took over. Dillard followed Adams into the runner-up spot.

Dillard closed on Adams in the final five circuits, looking to the inside of the leader. Keimig saw opportunity on the outside and powered past both.

The New Jersey native who now resides in Waxahachie, Texas, drew a loud ovation from the crowd in Victory Lane.

Doyline, La.’s Adams, making his debut with the series, settled for second, followed by defending champion Dillard of Robeline, La., Dale Wester of Ovilla, Texas and 13th-starter Tommy Rascoe of Converse, La. Rascoe earned the Shed Road Auto Parts Hard Charger.

Heat winners were Wester and Korey Keimig.

The Short Track Super Series Cajun Region Day Motor Sports point series moves to Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, La., for Round No. 2 of the 2022 season on Saturday, April 9. This will mark the first appearance of the Cajun Region at Boothill.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Cajun Region, visit www.shorttracksuperseriescajun.com, call Tim Bates at 318.773.7704 or e-mail TCBMotorsports@aol.com.  Like “Short Track Super Series Cajun Region” on Facebook or follow @shorttrackss_cajun_region on Instagram.



Short Track Super Series Cajun Region Modified Event No. 1 Feature Finish (20 laps): KOREY KEIMIG, Koty Adams, Caleb Dillard, Dale Wester, Tommy Rascoe, Kodey Keimig, Richard Holt, Thomas Holt, Brent Buckley, Keith Badiali, Corey Oltz, Roger Erickson, David Forbis, Joe Boswell.

Day Motorsports American Racer Bonus (FREE Tire Certificate): Richard Holt (seventh)
Shed Road Auto Parts Hard Charger ($50): Tommy Rascoe (13th to fifth)